Summit County Jail Population Data

Summit County jail population data describes who sits in the county jail at a given time and how many beds the jail holds. People look up Summit County inmate population numbers for many reasons. Some want the jail capacity. Some study the local justice system. Others compare the county jail to state and national rates. The county does post some hard facts, like the rated capacity of the main jail. Other figures, such as a verified average daily count, are not posted in plain form. Knowing which numbers are real and which are gaps keeps any read of the Summit County jail population honest and useful.

Public Record Search

Sponsored Results

How to Look Up Summit County Jail Population Data

The best starting point for Summit County jail population facts is the Sheriff's own corrections page. The Summit County Sheriff About Corrections page lists the jail's rated capacity, its history, and how it runs. That page is where the county states the hard number that anchors most population work: the jail's bed count. It does not post a daily dashboard, so the capacity figure is the most stable official number you will find there.

The second source is the live roster. The Sheriff publishes a Head Count With Photos Report as a PDF, and it can be scanned for a rough current count. The third source is national, the federal Bureau of Justice Statistics, which tracks jail populations across the country. Each source answers a different question. The Sheriff page gives beds. The roster gives a point-in-time head count. BJS gives the wider rate picture. None of them, on its own, gives a clean Summit County average daily population.

Read each source for what it is. Capacity is a fixed bed count, not a head count. The roster shifts hour to hour as people are booked, released, or moved. National data lags by a year or two and reports rates, not exact local counts. Treat the official county pages as the baseline and the national sources as context only.


Summit County Jail Capacity Overview

The county runs one main adult jail. The Summit County Jail sits at 205 East Crosier Street in Akron and holds up to 671 inmates. It opened in August 1990, and a new addition opened in May 1995. The State of Ohio classifies it as a full-service detention center, and it runs every hour of every day, all year. Capacity here means rated beds, the number of places the jail is built and approved to hold. It is not the same as how many people are actually inside on a given day.

FacilityRated CapacityNotes
Summit County Jail671Adult jail, 205 East Crosier Street, Akron; opened Aug 1990, addition May 1995.
Summit County Juvenile Detention CenterCapacity not publishedSeparate youth facility, 650 Dan Street, Akron; runs 24/7/365.

The juvenile detention center is a separate building with its own staff, and the county does not publish a bed count for it in the sources reviewed. So the 671 figure speaks only for the adult jail. The corrections line for the adult jail is 330-643-2171. For day-to-day counts and bookings, the bed total is the floor and ceiling that everything else fits inside.

Capacity quick facts: Adult jail rated capacity is 671 beds. The jail opened in August 1990, with an addition in May 1995. It runs 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.


Average Daily Population

Average daily population, often shortened to ADP, is the average number of people held over a set period, usually a year. It is one of the most useful jail numbers because it smooths out daily swings. A verified Summit County ADP was not found in the official county sources reviewed. The Sheriff's pages post capacity and operations, not a published yearly average. So this site does not state a Summit County ADP as fact, because doing so would mean inventing a number the county has not released.

People sometimes try to read the roster PDF as a population count. That does not work cleanly. The Head Count With Photos Report inspected in May 2026 ran 196 pages. A page count is not a population count. Some pages hold more than one person, and charge blocks vary in length, so 196 pages does not equal 196 people. The roster is a point-in-time snapshot, useful for a rough sense of current custody, not for a clean average.

Note: The roster PDF page count is not a population count, and no official Summit County average daily population figure was found in county sources.


Direct Supervision Model and Classification

The Summit County Jail was the first large county jail in Ohio to use a direct-supervision model. In that model, deputies work inside the inmate housing units rather than watching from a closed booth. Units are built for clear sight lines, so staff can see the whole space. The jail backs this up with more than 100 closed-circuit cameras, computerized door controls, and alarm systems. This design shapes how people are spread across the jail and why housing assignment matters to the population picture.

Classification decides where each person is housed. Summit County uses objective classification, which means staff score each person against set rules instead of gut feel. It happens at booking. Staff weigh the severity of the current charge and the person's criminal history. They also look at past behavior, medical and mental health needs, and any special needs. The goal is to match each person to the right housing and supervision level.

Classification is not fixed. People can be reclassified as their behavior or needs change. Someone may move to a different unit after a stretch of good conduct, a medical change, or a new charge. Because the population is sorted this way, the spread across housing units reflects risk and need, not just the raw head count. That is why two jails with the same total can look very different inside.


Housing Codes and Distribution

The public roster shows an assigned housing code for each person. These codes mark where someone is held inside the jail. Examples seen on the roster include unit-and-cell codes like 1A10U and 3A13L, plus area labels such as WEST GYM and COREB20. The codes give a rough map of how the population is spread, even though the county does not publish a key that explains what each code means.

So the roster lets you observe distribution without fully decoding it. You can see that people are split across many units and that some are held in overflow-style areas like a gym label. What you cannot do from the public file alone is say which unit is high security, which is medical, or which is intake. Those meanings are not published in the sources reviewed, so any read of the codes stays at the surface level.

Here is what the housing data does and does not show:

  • It shows that each person has a current housing assignment.
  • It shows codes like 1A10U, 3A13L, WEST GYM, and COREB20.
  • It hints at how many distinct units are in use at once.
  • It does not label which unit is medical, mental health, or high security.
  • It does not give a published bed count per unit.

Medical, Mental Health, and Programs

The jail is a full-service detention center, so it provides care and programs on site rather than shipping people out for routine needs. The Sheriff lists medical care, dental care, and mental health care among the services. A share of the population uses these services at any time, though the county does not post a public count of how many people receive medical or mental health care. So the need is real and named, but the exact share is not a published figure.

Programs reach beyond basic care. The Sheriff lists addiction and recovery help, religious ministry, educational programming, physical fitness, and voter registration. In January 2026 the office launched I.G.N.I.T.E., which stands for Inmate Growth Naturally and Intentionally Through Education. The program provides education and skills inside the jail, aiming to improve safety and cut repeat offenses after release. Programs like this can shape how long people stay engaged and how they do once they leave.

The main jail services include:

  • Medical, dental, and mental health care
  • Addiction and recovery assistance
  • Educational programming, including I.G.N.I.T.E.
  • Religious ministry and physical fitness
  • Video visitation, commissary, and voter registration

Note: the county names these services but does not publish how many people in the population use each one at a given time.


Juvenile Detention Is Separate

Youth held in Summit County are not part of the adult jail count. The Summit County Juvenile Detention Center is a separate facility at 650 Dan Street in Akron, and its phone is 330-643-2960. It runs all day, every day, like the adult jail, but it operates under the Juvenile Court rather than the adult corrections system. So youth numbers and adult numbers should never be added together.

The county does not publish a bed count for the juvenile center in the sources reviewed. That means the 671-bed figure applies to the adult jail only. Juvenile records also carry stronger privacy rules, so youth detention data is far less public than the adult roster. Anyone studying the full local picture should treat the two facilities as two distinct systems with different rules, different data, and different oversight.


Pretrial vs Sentenced Population

Jail populations split into two broad groups. The pretrial group is held while a case is still open, before any final outcome. The sentenced group is serving a local jail term or waiting to move to state prison. The mix between these two groups tells a lot about a jail. A large pretrial share often points to bond and case-processing pressure rather than people serving time.

The Summit County split between pretrial and sentenced was not found in the official county sources reviewed. The Sheriff's pages and the roster do not break the count into these two groups. So this site does not state a local pretrial percentage as fact. The framework still matters, though, because national jail studies show that pretrial detainees often make up a large share of county jail populations across the country.

Here is the basic framework, with the local split marked as not published:

StatusWhat It MeansSummit County Share
PretrialHeld while the case is open, before a final outcome.Not published
SentencedServing a local term or waiting transfer to state prison.Not published

National and State Context

To judge any local jail, it helps to know the wider picture. Several official and research bodies track jail use across the country. The federal Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes a yearly Jail Inmates report with national counts and rates. The Vera Institute of Justice runs Incarceration Trends, which holds county-level jail data drawn from official sources. The Prison Policy Initiative gathers Ohio and national data into plain summaries. These are the only kinds of sources used here for comparison, and the figures are national or state, not county facts.

The table below frames county, state, and national context. The county column is marked as not published, because a verified Summit County jail rate per 100,000 was not found in the official sources reviewed. The state and national columns should be read from current BJS and Vera figures, which update each year. The point is the comparison method, not a fixed Summit County rate.

LevelData SourceJail Rate per 100k
Summit CountyNo official local rate foundNot published
OhioBJS / Vera Incarceration TrendsSee current state figure
NationalBJS Jail Inmates annual reportSee current national figure

Use these national and state numbers as context only. They do not stand in for a Summit County count. When you cite a rate, name the source and the year, and make clear it is a national or state figure rather than a local one.



Where the Data Comes From

The hard local facts come straight from the Sheriff's own pages. The capacity, the opening dates, the direct-supervision model, the classification process, and the services list all trace to the Summit County Sheriff About Corrections page. The housing codes and the point-in-time head count trace to the current inmate roster PDF, which was inspected in May 2026.

The comparison figures come from national research bodies. The Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes the yearly jail count. The Vera Institute holds county-level trend data. The Prison Policy Initiative pulls these into summaries. Each is clearly labeled as national or state, never as a Summit County fact. Where the county does not publish a number, this page says so plainly instead of guessing.

For related custody and case pages on this site, see:

Search Summit County Records

Sponsored Results